The Mathematical Society of the Philippines (MSP) has announced the Philippines’ contestants to the 58th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) which will be held this July 12 to 23, 2017, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The country’s contestants are the following students:

  1. Clyde Wesley Ang (Chiang Kai Shek College)
  2. Kyle Patrick Dulay (Philippine Science High School – Main)
  3. Albert John Patupat (De La Salle University Integrated School)
  4. Shaquille Wyan Que (Grace Christian College)
  5. Sean Anderson Ty (Zamboanga Chong Hua High School)
  6. Farrell Eldrian Wu (MGC New Life Christian Academy)

Wu and Dulay are the country’s first IMO Gold Medalists, a feat they achieved in 2016.  In the same 2016 edition, Ang and Patupat won Silver Medals while Que won an Honorable Mention.  Ty is a first-timer to the IMO.

The group will be led by Dr. Richard Eden (Mathematics Department, Ateneo de Manila University), Team Leader, and Dr. Louie John Vallejo (Institute of Mathematics, University of the Philippines – Diliman), Deputy Team Leader.  The team was chosen at the end of the Mathematical Olympiad Summer Camp (MOSC), a rigorous training program handled by members of the MSP.  Invited to the program were the National Finalists of the Philippine Mathematical Olympiad which concluded this January 2017.

The IMO is the most prestigious international mathematics competition for high school students all over the world, held yearly in a different country.  The number of participating countries has grown from seven in 1959 (Romania) to 109 in 2016 (Hong Kong).

The MOSC and the team’s IMO Participation is a project of the MSP and the Department of Science and Technology – Science Education Institute.

The Philippine Team and the MSP are grateful to their two Major Sponsors:  HARI Foundation, Inc. (Hyundai Asia Resources, Inc.) and Manulife Business Processing Services.

Share with your friends:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked. *